The fourth biennial meeting: Taroko Gorge, Taiwan 2011

The fourth biennial meeting was organized by Dr Yong-Kwang Tu in Taroko Gorge National Park, Taiwan on Nov 30 – Dec.1, 2011. Twenty-seven participating academicians met at the reception on November 29th, 2011 at 6:30PM at the Shangri-La hotel in Taipei. On November 29th, 2011 WANS members flew by plane to Taroko National Park and were welcomed at the Silks Palace Resort Hotel. All academicians and their spouses gathered at the gala dinner which was given on the same night at 7:00 PM.  

The scientific sessions began on December 1st, 2011.Twenty-seven scientific presentations were made. President John Popp gave a dynamic presidential adress. All academicians and their spouses made a very interesting tour in the Taroko National Park on December 1st, 2011. The business meeting was organized on December 1st, 2012 at the Hua-Lien airport at 3:45 PM. During the business meeting the minutes of the Bali meeting were read and accepted.  President Dr John Popp gave his report, thanked Dr Yong Kwang Tu for his superb organization of the WANS meeting in Taroko Gorge National Parkin Taiwan. Dr Popp declared that the Golden Neuron Award will be given to Dr John Jane Sr. Dr Popp suggested to establish a membership committe and expressed the importance of establishing a web-site. Dr Pamir took over the responsibility of creating the website. Dr James Rutka read the Secretary/Treasurer’s report. All members were updated on the membership status and the financial status of the Academy. Dr Rutka announced the results of the email voting and Dr Pamir was nominated and appointed as the new Secretary/Treasurer of WANS. The membership report was read by Dr Al-Mefty and prospective members were also discussed. Future meeting sites were also discussed and the conclusion was Phoenix Arizona on October 11-12, 2012 under the responsibility of Dr Robert Spetzler. It was also announced that the 5th biennial meeting of the WANS will be organized by Dr Kyu Shung Lee in Seoul-South Korea September 2013, on the occasion of the World Federation of Neurosurgicial Societies’ World Congress.